

Protecting and Improving the Health of Iowans

Kim Reynolds, Governor

Adam Gregg, Lt. Governor

Kelly Garcia, Interim Director

Minutes Iowa Medical Cannabidiol Board Friday, February 11, 2022 10:00 a.m.

1. Call to Order Mike McKelvey, Chair

The February 11, 2022 Iowa Medical Cannabidiol Board meeting was officially called to order at 10:05 a.m.

2. Roll Call Mike McKelvey, Chair

Members Present	Members Absent
Cpt. Mike McKelvey – Law Enforcement	Vacant – Gastroenterologist
Dr. Bob Shreck – Oncology	Vacant - Neurologist
Dr. Lonny Miller – Family Medicine	
Dr. Stephen Richards – Pharmacist	
Dr. Jacqueline Stoken – Pain Management	
Dr. Andrea Weber - Psychiatry	
Dr. Michael Colburn - Pediatrics	
Staff	
Sarah Reisetter – Deputy Director	
Owen Parker – Bureau Chief	
Joseph Husak – Program Manager	

3. Approval of Minutes

Mike McKelvey, Chair

Dr. Stoken made a motion to approve the November 19, 2021 minutes, with a second by Dr. Miller.

A verbal vote was taken. Motion carried unanimously.

4. Public Comment Period

Mike McKelvey, Chair

- Grace Hammel Grace is formerly a registered nurse in IA, and now resides in CA. Grace spoke to
 her work on legislation in CA that allows for the use of medical cannabis products in the hospital
 setting for the terminally ill.
- John Fenner John shared his experience with a recent procedure, and that he used medical
 cannabis for pain instead of opioids. John shared concerns with the discrepancies with state and
 federal laws, and the burdens that are placed on patients, including barriers to entry and the
 price of products.
- **Carl Olsen** Carl noted the bills that had been introduced during the session, and inquired about the Board's previous recommendation to request an exemption from the DEA for IA's program.

5. New Board Member Introduction

Owen Parker, Bureau Chief

- a. Dr. Andrea N. Weber (Psychiatry)
- b. Dr. Michael D. Colburn (Pediatrics)

Drs. Weber and Colburn were welcomed to the Board as new members. Both of the Board's new members join us from the University of Iowa.

6. New Board Member Orientation

Heather Adams, AAG

- a. Board duties
- b. Program & Legal Overview

AAG Heather Adams provided an overview to new and current Board members about their duties as well as legal considerations for communications and discussing program business.

7. Program Updates

Owen Parker, Bureau Chief

- a. Administrative Rule Update ARC 6159C
- b. Spring Rulemaking Update
- C. 2021 Data Review and Update

Owen gave the Board an overview of three bills that had been introduced, including: allowing for a caregiver card to be issued to educational institutions and healthcare facilities (SSB3112), charging the general assembly to request an exemption for IA's program from the DEA (SCR101) and allowing for the sale of combustible cannabis, with caveats (HF2307). Owen also provided updates on updated administrative rules that were put forth (ARC6159C), and that barring any issues those rules would take effect some time in the summer. Owen also updated the Board on the Department's plan to update administrative rules around licensee marketing and advertising, as well updates to language pertaining to the Department's seed-to-sale system. Dr. Stoken commented on the potential for a mechanism for practitioners to receive patient purchasing information, similar to a PDMP. Owen provided the Board with a comparative analysis of key program metrics from year-end 2020 to year-end 2021.

8. Future Meetings

Mike McKelvey, Chair

- a. May 13, 2022
- b. August 12, 2022
- c. November 18, 2022

9. Adjourn

Mike McKelvey, Chair

A motion to adjourn the meeting was made by Dr. Stoken, seconded by Dr. Richards. A verbal vote was taken: Motion carried unanimously. The meeting officially adjourned at 11:58 a.m

All meetings held by the Iowa Department of Public Health are accessible to everyone. If you have special needs to participate, please call deaf Relay (Health or Speech Impaired) 1-800-735-941; Internet: www.idph.iowa.gov